The 2019 CCRA Awards were presented at the Canadian Cancer Research Conference (CCRC) in Ottawa in November.

CCRA is pleased to announce the following five awardees:

Mr. Patrick J. Sullivan (Team Finn Foundation and Ac2orn (Advocacy for Canadian Oncology Research Network)) received the Award for Exceptional Leadership in Patient Involvement in Cancer Research for his tireless advocacy for better research, innovative cancer therapies, as well as better regulatory oversight of and improved access to clinical trials for children, adolescents and young adults, and his effective efforts at building connections with groups and individuals to ensure that researchers, clinicians and  persons affected by cancer are working together to address challenges and achieve common goals.
Dr. Anne-Marie Mes-Masson, PhD, FCAHS, FRSC (Institut du cancer de Montréal, CRCHUM, Université de Montréal) received the Award for Exceptional Leadership in Cancer Research for her outstanding leadership not only in her own research in the areas of ovarian, prostate and breast cancer but for her pioneering efforts to create and promulgate model systems based on patient-derived materials and  her commitment to establishing infrastructure and quality standards for biorepositories that are foundational for enabling innovative translational research in Canada and internationally.
Dr. Gerald Batist, MD, FRCPC (McGill University, Jewish General Hospital, McGill Centre for Translational Research in Cancer, Montréal Centre for Experimental Therapeutics in Cancer) received the Award for Exceptional Leadership in Cancer Research for his decades-long commitment to accelerating the translation of new discoveries from the research laboratory into clinical benefits for cancer patients by building unique collaborative and multidisciplinary research programs and networks in Quebec, across Canada and internationally and addressing the major challenges in cancer research and cancer care.


Dr. Lincoln Stein, MD, PhD (Ontario Institute for Cancer Research, University of Toronto, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory) received the Award for Outstanding Achievements in Cancer Research for his deep commitment to large integrative cancer genetics research projects, his unique ability to work across disciplines and build far-reaching research collaborations to accelerate basic cancer science, and his pioneering and impactful work to generate meaningful information for researchers, clinicians and trainees across the globe with the ultimate goal of improving cancer patient care.


Geoffrey T. Fong, PhD, FCAHS, FRSC (University of Waterloo, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research) received the Award for Distinguished Service to Cancer Research for his exceptional leadership and contribution to population-level policy research, particularly, his creation of the International Tobacco Control (ITC) Policy Evaluation Project, which has been instrumental in advancing evidence based tobacco control policies and preventing tobacco-related cancers in Canada and around the globe.