We’re proud to announce the three inaugural winners of the CCRA’s awards for outstanding contribution in the cancer research community. The 2011 awards were presented during the Canadian Cancer Research Conference (CCRC) in Toronto during November.

Exceptional Leadership Award

Dr. Philip E. Branton (McGill University) received the award for Exceptional Leadership in Cancer Research given his outstanding contribution to developing the cancer research community and inter-agency research collaboration through the founding of the CCRA.

Outstanding Achievements Award

Dr. Anthony J. Pawson (Mount Sinai Hospital and University of Toronto) received the award for Outstanding Achievements in Cancer Research. His revolutionary work in cancer signal transduction has led to novel therapies for cancer patients.

Distinguished Service Award

Mr. André Picard (The Globe and Mail) received the Distinguished Service to Cancer Research for his contributions to public education on cancer research and policy through his exemplary journalism.